Programs for survivors of first responders and service members lost in the line of duty. Reach out to the official program for your situation.
Phone & internet Official page read in full
Discounted mobile and Fios home internet plans for verified first responders.
FirefightersEMS (EMTs and paramedics)Police and law enforcementVolunteersRetired respondersFamilies of fallen responders and service members
What the official page says
- Verizon's page says the discount is for active and retired firefighters, police and EMS workers, including volunteers, and immediate family of those fallen in the line of duty.
- Verification uses ID.me; the page says you may need documents such as pay stubs, retiree or pension statements, an employee ID, or an agency affidavit for fallen-responder family.
- The page says it can be combined with other Verizon offers except teacher, nurse, student and military discounts, and that you may be asked to re-verify periodically.
- The page also lists a first responder accessories discount and priority network access; current promo prices change, so read the page.
Verification: ID.me · Ends: Not stated on page (promotions change)
Official source: Verizon: first responders
Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-17.
Phone & internet Official page, key details read: re-confirm before relying
Discounted T-Mobile plans for eligible first responders who verify within 45 days and re-verify yearly.
FirefightersEMS (EMTs and paramedics)Police and law enforcement911 dispatchersVolunteersRetired respondersFamilies of fallen responders and service members
What the official page says
- T-Mobile's support page lists state or local firefighters and volunteer firefighters, state or local law enforcement, active EMT certification holders, paid ambulance drivers or paramedics, search and rescue members, and 911 dispatchers, plus pensioned retirees and immediate family of a responder lost in the line of duty.
- You must be the account's Billing Responsible Party and Primary Account Holder.
- The page says to verify within 45 days of activation or risk a price increase of up to $20 per line, and that yearly verification is required.
- Check the page for whether your specific organization and role qualify.
Verification: Documents submitted in your T-Mobile account · Ends: Not stated (limited-time terms apply)
Official source: T-Mobile: first responder verification
Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Official support page via search excerpt 2026-10-17.
Events & outdoors Official page read in full
Free annual pass for current military and dependents; free lifetime pass for veterans and Gold Star families, covering federal recreation entrance and day-use fees.
VeteransActive duty, Guard and ReserveMilitary familiesFamilies of fallen responders and service members
What the official page says
- National Park Service: current US Armed Forces members and dependents can get a free Military Annual Pass; veterans (including National Guard and Reserves) and Gold Star Families can get a free Military Lifetime Pass.
- In person it is free; the NPS page lists accepted IDs, including DoD ID, VHIC, Veteran ID Card, or a veteran designation on a state ID. Recreation.gov offers a free digital pass; mailed passes from the USGS Store have a $10 processing fee.
- The passes cover entrance and standard day-use fees on lands run by NPS, BLM, Reclamation, Fish and Wildlife, Forest Service and Army Corps. They do not cover camping, tours, permits or concession fees.
- The NPS page was last updated February 26, 2026.
Verification: Show ID in person, or online via Recreation.gov · Ends: Lifetime / annual
Official source: NPS: free passes for military, veterans, Gold Star families
Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-17.
Home & hardware Lower confidence: confirm on the official page
10% off select in-stock purchases for verified military members, veterans and eligible spouses.
VeteransActive duty, Guard and ReserveMilitary familiesFamilies of fallen responders and service members
What the official page says
- Home Depot's military page and corporate how-to describe a 10% military discount that requires enrolling and verifying (an excerpt says the current verification flow is ID.me; older materials mention SheerID).
- An excerpt also notes a $400 per calendar year cap and exclusions such as lumber, building materials, appliances, services and gift cards. Confirm the cap and exclusions on the page before relying on them.
Verification: Account enrollment and ID.me · Ends: Not stated
Official source: Home Depot: military discount · Home Depot corporate: how to claim your military discount
Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Official page via search excerpt 2026-10-17; details to re-confirm; LOWER confidence on cap.
Housing & money Official page read in full
Nonprofit program that supports young families of fallen first responders with a home; check eligibility rules on its page.
Families of fallen responders and service membersFirefightersPolice and law enforcement
What the official page says
- Tunnel to Towers eligibility page: the death was after September 11, 2001, and was either in the line of duty or authorized training with at least one surviving biological or legally adopted child aged 18 or younger, or caused by department-verified, service-connected 9/11 toxic exposure with a child aged 21 or younger.
- The surviving parent and the responder must not have been divorced at the time of death, and the surviving parent must not be currently remarried, engaged, or cohabitating.
- The page says priority goes to applicants whose family has remained unchanged since the time of death.
Verification: Application to the foundation · Ends: n/a
Official source: Tunnel to Towers: requirements and eligibility
Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-17.
Benefits & survivors Official page read in full
Federal program (Bureau of Justice Assistance) with death, disability and educational assistance benefits for eligible public safety officers and their survivors.
FirefightersEMS (EMTs and paramedics)Police and law enforcementFamilies of fallen responders and service membersVolunteers
What the official page says
- BJA's PSOB benefits page describes three application types: death benefits, disability benefits, and Public Safety Officers' Educational Assistance (which starts with an education prescreen).
- Death and disability applications have a Part A completed by the applicant and a Part B completed by the employing agency, and the system builds a document checklist from your answers.
- Denied claimants have 33 days to appeal to a hearing officer and 33 days to appeal to the BJA Director, per the page. PSOB phone: 1-888-744-6513 (8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Eastern).
- Eligibility is set by federal law and regulation. This is general information, not legal advice.
Verification: Online application at PSOB · Ends: Claims have filing deadlines; see PSOB
Official source: BJA: PSOB benefits
Last verified 2026-10-17 (ET). Method: Full page text read 2026-10-17.